South Central Connecticut Regional Mental Health Board
South Central Health
South Central Health
Town/Map of Region
C.A.C Membership
Board of Directors
News & Events
Photo Gallery
Legislative Info
Consumer Council
Facts About Mental Illness
Volunteer Opportunities
Social Clubs
Related Links
Regional Mental Health Board Reports
Contact Us
Region II Regional Mental Health Board Acknowledgments

Welcome to Region II South Central Connecticut (CT) Regional Mental Health Board!

The Regional Mental Health Boards were established in 1975 by the state legislature.
There are five mental health regions in Connecticut each of which is represented by a local Regional Mental Health Board . Each region is comprised of Catchment Area Councils that represent towns in their geographic area.There are twenty-three catchment areas in Connecticut. Each Catchment Area Council elects four of its members to the Regional Mental Health Board, and they in turn elect members to the State Mental Health Advisory Board. Membership in the Regional Mental Health Boards and the Catchment Area Councils is made up of volunteers from the community including consumers, mental health professionals, family members, concerned citizens, community leaders, and representatives appointed by the towns. They hold regular meetings which are open to the public.

The mission of the Regional Mental Health Boards:
  • Ensure that citizens from every town in Connecticut will be actively involved in determining and monitoring the kind of  mental health services that will be provided by the Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services.
  • Evaluate DMHAS funded mental health services in their region
  • Make recommendations for improvements to DMHAS.
  • Ensure a system of comprehensive, recovery oriented mental health services.
  • Share their reports and recommendations with the community.
  • Provide community education about mental health issues.
  • Reduce the stigma of mental illness.
  • Provide legislative advocacy for important mental health issues.

The Region II South Central Connecticut (CT) Regional Mental Health Board serves the towns of:
Ansonia, Bethany, Branford, Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Derby, Durham,
East Haddam, East Hampton, East Haven, Essex, Guilford, Haddam, Hamden, Killingworth, Lyme, Madison, Meriden, Middlefield, Middletown, Milford, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook, Orange, Portland, Seymour, Shelton, Wallingford, Westbrook, West Haven, and Woodbridge.

Region II (South Central) - Regional Mental Health BoardThe Iris was adopted as an emblem for the crusade against mental illness by The National Alliance for the Mentally Ill and the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression following the historic sale of Les Irises, a painting by Vincent van Gogh , for more than $50 million in 1987.  The Iris' three petals represent courage, wisdom and hope.

Mental Health Board